JRS Board of Trustees

Composition - 10 members:

3 ex-officio members
  State Auditor
  State Treasurer
  Department of Administrative Services Commissioner
1 member appointed by the Governor

2 members elected by the other Trustees who have had at least five years of ERS membership

1 member elected by the other Trustees who has had at least 10 years experience in investments. This trustee cannot be a current or former member of ERS. [OCGA 47-2-21]
3 members appointed by the Governor who are a superior court judge, state court judge, district attorney, state court solicitor-general, or a juvenile court judge [OCGA 47-23-20(b)]

Term: Four years. [OCGA 47-2-21]

Officers: Officers shall be the same as the officers of ERS. [Chair and Vice-Chair elected annually per ERS statute and Bylaws] [OCGA 47-23-20(f) and Bylaws]

Meetings: Annual meeting on third Thursday in April at 10:45 A.M. at ERSGA office. [Bylaws] See the ERSGA calendar for meeting dates. View/print the current Board Meeting Agenda and Secretary's Report

Quorum: Six members in attendance are required by law. [OCGA 47-23-20(e)]

Votes: Five votes are required for a decision of the Board. [OCGA 47-23-20(3)]

Investment Committee: At least four members appointed by Chair, plus Executive Secretary who is a non-voting member. Three voting members are a quorum and three votes required. Committee elects its Chair. Committee members are the same as ERS. [Bylaws]

Lonice Barrett Lonice Barrett
Board Chair
Appointed by the Governor
January 5, 2012 - June 30, 2019
Eli P. Niepoky Eli P. Niepoky
10 years of investment experience; appointed by the trustees
February 20, 2014 – June 30, 2021
Harold Reheis
5 years of ERS membership; appointed by the trustees
Retired Member of ERS
May 27, 2008 - June 30, 2020
Frank F. Thach, Jr. Frank F. Thach, Jr.
5 years ERS membership; appointed by the trustees
Retired member of ERS
December 17, 2009 - June 30, 2018
Steven N. McCoy Steven N. McCoy
Ex-officio member as State Treasurer
Novemer 1, 2011 - Indefinite
Greg Griffin
Greg Griffin
Ex-officio member as State Auditor
July 1, 2012 - Indefinite
Ryan Shawn Ryan
Ex-officio member as Commissioner of the Department of Administrative Services
October 2, 2017 - Indefinite
E. Trenton Brown III
Appointed by the Governor, Superior Court Judge
April 10, 2015 - June 30, 2018
Ron Mullins Ron Mullins
Appointed by the Governor, Superior Court Judge
May 29, 2015 - June 30, 2020
Ellen S. Golden
Appointed by the Governor, State Court Judge
July 29, 2016 - June 30, 2020


Past Board Members

Daniel J. Craig
October 2004 to June 2016

Dennis C. Sanders
July 2010 to April 2015

Larry B. Mims
March 2013 to December 2014

William M. Ray, II
December 2006 to July 2012

Karlton Van Banke
February 2004 to March 2012

Kelly D. Turner
July 1998 to November 2006

Robert E. Keller
July 1998 to October 2004

Cynthia D. Wright
July 1998 to November 2004


Board Contact Information
Email:  boardoftrustees@ers.ga.gov
Fax:  (404) 350-6309
Mailing Address:
Board of Trustees
Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia
Attention:  James A. Potvin, Executive Director
Two Northside 75, Suite 300
Atlanta, GA  30318

actual reportforms and publications