@0@° ERSGA

Employees’ Retirement
System of Georgia
Serving those who serve Georgia

The answers to the FAQ’s below are based on laws in effect as of April 1, 2010. Future changes in the laws
governing the Employees’ Retirement System (ERS) could affect the answers.

¢ If you are age 60 and have at least 10 years of creditable service under the Employees’ Retirement
System (ERS), you can retire with a monthly benefit without a reduction in benefit.

¢ If you have at least 25 years of creditable service under ERS, you can also retire with a monthly benefit
at any age, but there is a 7% penalty for each year less than 30 or for each year under age 60 whichever
is smaller.

¢ If you have at least 30 years of creditable service, you can receive a monthly retirement benefit without
any penalty.

You can get a refund of your contributions and interest, or you can leave the money with ERS, in case you return
to state service and again become a contributing member. However, your account will not accrue further
interest if you are not a contributing member of ERS.

If you can find another job covered by ERS within 4 years of termination and you have left your money in the
system, you retain the membership rights you had at termination and will “pick up where you left off.” If you
return after 4 years, your membership will be established under the provisions of law in effect at your rehire
date.

NOTE: If you have at least 10 years of service and have not received a refund and you find a job covered by
the Teachers Retirement System (TRS), you can choose to remain a member of ERS. But you must make this
decision within 60 days of your TRS hire date.

If you took a refund when you left (regardless of the amount of creditable service), upon rehire you will be
covered under the retirement plan offered to new hires at the time of rehire. You may buy back your refunded
service by:

1. Completing 2 additional years of ERS membership, and

2. Repaying a lump sum equal to the withdrawn amount plus 4.25% interest compounded annually from
the date of refund to the date of payment.

The buyback can apply to any refunded service. Upon receipt of payment, service and the withdrawn amount
will be credited to a current, active ERS membership. Retirement benefits will still be calculated using the
highest 24 consecutive months’ salary, including repurchased service, if appropriate.



You will be responsible for paying federal taxes and any penalties (if applicable) on the untaxed money in your
account which includes: (1) any interest and (2) for Old Plan members only, your employer-paid employee
contributions. You may also request that your untaxed refund amount be rolled over into a Qualified Retirement
Plan or an Individual Retirement Account. The contributions you have made have already been taxed and
cannot be rolled over. Monies rolled over are not taxable until they are withdrawn. Consult a professional tax
advisor or the IRS for further information.

You can request a refund online by logging in to your account on the ERSGA website, or by registering and
creating account if you have not previously registered.

If you have at least 10 years of creditable service but you don’t have at least 25 years, you can leave your money
with the retirement system (not get a refund) and remain vested. At age 60 you can apply for retirement and
begin drawing a monthly retirement benefit. It is your responsibility to notify ERS 30 — 90 days prior to age 60 in
order to make your application for retirement. You can also get a refund of your contributions and interest, but
if you choose that option, you forfeit any rights to further benefits from ERS, including your vested monthly
retirement benefit.

NOTE: If you have at least 10 years of service and have not received a refund and you find a job covered by the Teachers
Retirement System (TRS), you can choose to remain a member of ERS. But you must make this decision within 60 days of
your TRS hire date.

You may have two kinds of life insurance: (1) through Flexible Benefits (that you choose each year during Open
Enrollment) and (2) Group Term Life Insurance (GTLI) through the Employees’ Retirement System.* Contact
the GaBreeze for questions about your insurance through Flexible Benefits. For more information refer to
their website: www.gabreeze.ga.gov.

If you retire with a monthly benefit, you will be able to keep your GTLI through ERS. Before retirement and while
under age 60, your GTLI coverage is equal to 18 times your monthly salary. At age 60, the amount of your GTLI
coverage begins reducing at a rate of %% of the age 60 coverage every month. At age 65 the reduction stops
and you have 70% of the GTLI amount you had at age 60. At retirement, the amount of coverage automatically
reduces to 70% of the age 60 amount. No further premiums are payable upon retirement.

*GTLI is provided to members of the ERS “Old” and “New” plans. It is not offered to members of the Georgia State
Employees’ Pension and Savings Plan (GSEPS) — generally those hired on or after January 1, 2009.

It depends on how many years of creditable service you have. If you have at least 18 years of creditable
service (excluding forfeited leave) and you remain vested for retirement (i.e. you do not get a refund) you
can keep your GTLI coverage. However, you must write to the ERS and request that your coverage continue.
The premium will cost 1% of your final salary for each month until retirement, death or, if you decide to get a
refund later, at the time of refund, at which time these premiums will be deducted from the benefit payable.
If you have enough service to vest but don’t have 18 years of creditable service, or if you don’t have enough


http://gabreeze.ga.gov

service to vest, or if you decide to get a refund, your GTLI coverage ends upon termination of employment.

If you keep your GTLI coverage, the amount of coverage is the same as set out in the question above. Reductions
to this amount begin at age 60, or upon earlier retirement. No further premiums are payable upon retirement.

You can buy up to 3 years of “Air Time” service. For example, if you are under age 60 and only have 22 years
of creditable service, you could buy three years of “Air Time” service to give you the 25 years needed to begin
a retirement benefit immediately. There are four things to remember about buying “Air Time”: 1) you must
purchase this service when you submit a retirement application; 2) you cannot purchase this service after you
have been terminated by your department; 3) you cannot use “Air Time” to gain the 10 years required for
vested benefits; and 4) “Air Time” is very expensive — costing anywhere from 60% to 150% of your yearly salary
to purchase one year of creditable service.

You may only purchase service while you are an active, contributing member under ERS — not after separating
from employment.

On the ERSGA website (www.ers.ga.gov), click on Members/Log-In. Follow the directions to log in/set up your
account. Once you are logged into the site, look for the “Generate Benefit Estimate” tab. This will allow you to
calculate the same estimate you would receive from one of our Retirement Specialists. You can also find out
your total contributions and interest as well as your current creditable service. NOTE: Check with your Human
Resources or payroll office for forfeited leave totals.

You can download a copy at www.ers.ga.gov under Forms and Publications.

If you are immediately retiring with a monthly benefit, you can keep your health insurance. For other questions
about health insurance, contact the Department of Community Health: www.dch.georgia.gov. Flexible
Benefits questions should go to GaBreeze: www.gabreeze.ga.gov.

Questions about payments for annual leave should be directed to your payroll office. If you're interested in
sheltering your annual leave payment from income taxes, you can contribute most of the payment into the
Peach State Reserves 457 plan (if eligible). Download the Annual Leave Agreement from the ERSGA website
under the Peach State Reserves section.

NOTE: If you are not eligible for a monthly benefit, keep a record of your leave amounts at termination. Under current law
if you are rehired in a position covered by ERS, you can recover prior sick and forfeited leave to use toward retirement.
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There is no requirement to take your money out of the plan, unless your account balance is $1,000 or less.
With Peach State Reserves, you continue to have access to your account, with the following benefits:

¢ Continued tax-deferred status on your investments
e Access investment advice
e Manage your investments & transfer money among funds

Visit the plan website at www.gabreeze.ga.gov or call 1-877-342-7339. Withdrawals/rollovers can be made
directly on the website; however they cannot be made until after 30 days of separation from the state. To set
up a meeting with a Peach State Reserves Local Plan Consultant, call and press option 2.

NOTE: 401(k) withdrawals made prior to age 59 % are generally subject to an early withdrawal penalty. If your new
employer accepts rollovers, you can roll your 401(k) and/or 457 plan to your new plan and continue to maintain tax-
deferred status on the money, however you should keep in mind that 457 plan balances are not subject to the early
withdrawal penalty described above. If you roll your 457 balance to a 401(k) plan, it will become subject to 401(k) plan
rules, including the early withdrawal penalty if you subsequently choose to take a distribution from the new plan prior
to age 59 %.

Pension/Retirement benefit information - Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia

800-805-4609, Local 404-350-6300
WWW.ers.ga.gov

Peach State Reserves 457 and 401(k) - GaBreeze

877-342-7339
www.gabreeze.ga.gov

Health Insurance information — Dept. of Community Health State Health Benefit Plan (SHBP)

800-601-1863, Local 404-656-6322
www.dch.georgia.gov

Flexible Benefits — GaBreeze

877-342-7339
www.gabreeze.ga.gov
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