Leadership Team


Leadership Team

Jim Potvin, Executive Director

Jim Potvin is the Executive Director of the Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia (ERSGA). He joined ERSGA in February, 2009 as the Deputy Director, after 15 years in private industry working in retirement plan administration and consulting. He was appointed as the Executive Director in February, 2012.

Jim began his career as a pension administrator for Georgia-Pacific Corporation, before moving into a consulting role with Arthur Andersen LLP. He later joined Hewitt Associates, a global HR consulting firm, as the Location Manager for the RFM Pension Administration outsourcing group. At ERSGA, Jim is responsible for the administration and operations of five defined benefit plans, two life insurance plans, and three defined contribution plans covering more than 125,000 active members and 73,000 retirees.

A native of Connecticut, Jim holds a B.A. in Mathematical Economics and Managerial Studies from Rice University, and an M.S. from Georgia State University. He is President of the National Association of State Retirement Administrators, and a member of the National Association of Government Defined Contribution Administrators, Inc., the National Conference of State Social Security Administrators, and the Government Finance Officers Association.

Angie Surface
Deputy Director

Susan Anderson
Chief Operations Officer

Chris Hackett
Director, Information Technology

Nicole McGlathery
Director, Human Resources

Carolyn Kaplan
Director, Financial Management 

Kelly Moody
Director, Legislative Affairs

Flavia Peynado
Director, Quality Assurance 

Danielle Templeton
Director, Communications and Outreach

Michelle Heinecke
Executive Assistant to the Director