Governed by ERS Board of Trustees


Board Contact Information

Fax:  404.350.6309

Mailing Address:
Board of Trustees
Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia
Attention:  James A. Potvin, Executive Director
Two Northside 75, Suite 300
Atlanta, GA  30318

Composition – 7 members:

By statute [O.C.G.A. § 47-22-2], the GDCP Board is created and placed under the administration of the Board of Trustees of the Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia (ERS). The composition is as follows:

  • 3 ex-officio members
    • State Auditor
    • State Treasurer
    • Department of Administrative Services Commissioner 
  • 1 member appointed by the Governor 
  • 2 members elected by the other Trustees who have had at least five years of ERS membership
  • 1 member elected by the other Trustees who has had at least 10 years experience in investments. This trustee cannot be a current or former member of ERS. [O.C.G.A. § 47-2-21]


Four years [O.C.G.A. § 47-2-21] for all members except ex-officios. Ex-officio members serve on the board for as long as they maintain their position.


Chair and Vice-Chair elected annually. [O.C.G.A. § 47-2-22 and Bylaws]


Bi-monthly meetings on third Thursday at 10:30 A.M., and Annual meeting on the third Thursday in April at 10:00 A.M. at ERSGA office. [Bylaws] See the ERSGA calendar for meeting dates. 


Five members in attendance are required by law. [O.C.G.A. § 47-2-21(f)]


Four votes are required for a decision of the Board. [O.C.G.A. § 47-2-21(f)]

Investment Committee

At least four members appointed by Chair, plus Executive Secretary who is a non-voting member. Three voting members are a quorum and three votes required. Committee elects its Chair. [Bylaws]

Homer Bryson
5 years of ERS membership; appointed by the trustees
December 12, 2019 – June 30, 2024

Frank F. Thach, Jr.
5 years ERS membership; appointed by the trustees
Retired member of ERS
December 17, 2009 – June 30, 2026
Investment Committee Chair

Eli P. Niepoky
10 years of investment experience; appointed by the trustees
February 20, 2014 – June 30, 2025
Investment Committee Member

Rebecca Sullivan
Ex-officio member as Commissioner of the Department of Administrative Services
January 1, 2022 – Indefinite

Steve McCoy
Ex-officio member as State Treasurer
December 21, 1992 – November 30, 1997
November 1, 2011 – May 15, 2019 
July 16, 2020 – Indefinite

Greg Griffin
Ex-officio member as State Auditor
July 1, 2012 – Indefinite
Investment Committee Member

Rhonda Wilson
Appointed by the Governor
December 9, 2021 – June 30, 2027