Board of Trustees


Board Contact Information

Email:  boardoftrustees@ers.ga.gov 
Fax:  404.350.6309

Mailing Address:
Board of Trustees
Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia
Attention:  James A. Potvin, Executive Director
Two Northside 75, Suite 300
Atlanta, GA  30318

Composition – 10 members

By statute [O.C.G.A. § 47-23-20(b)], the GJRS Board is composed of all of the members of the Board of Trustees of the Employees’ Retirement System (ERS) and three additional members appointed by the Governor. The composition is as follows:

  • 3 ex-officio members
    •  State Auditor
    •  State Treasurer
    •  Department of Administrative Services Commissioner
  • 1 member appointed by the Governor
  • 2 members elected by the other Trustees who have had at least five years of creditable service in ERS membership
  • 1 member elected by the other Trustees who has had at least 10 years experience in investments. This trustee cannot be a current or former member of ERS. [O.C.G.A. § 47-2-21]
  • 3 members appointed by the Governor who are a superior court judge, state court judge, district attorney, state court solicitor-general, or a juvenile court judge [O.C.G.A. § 47-23-20(b)]


Four years [O.C.G.A. § 47-23-20(c)] for all members except ex-officios. Ex-officio members serve on the board for as long as they maintain their position. 


Officers shall be the same as the officers of ERS. [Chair and Vice-Chair elected annually per ERS statute and Bylaws] [O.C.G.A. § 47-23-20(f) and Bylaws]


Annual meeting on third Thursday in April at 10:45 A.M. at ERSGA office. [Bylaws] See the ERSGA calendar for meeting dates. 


Six members in attendance are required by law. [O.C.G.A. § 47-23-20(e)]


Five votes are required for a decision of the Board. [O.C.G.A. § 47-23-20(e)]

Investment Committee

At least four members appointed by Chair, plus Executive Secretary who is a non-voting member. Three voting members are a quorum and three votes required. Committee elects its Chair. Committee members are the same as ERS. [Bylaws]

Homer Bryson
5 years of ERS membership; appointed by the trustees
December 12, 2019 – June 30, 2024

Frank F. Thach, Jr.
5 years ERS membership; appointed by the trustees
Retired member of ERS
December 17, 2009 – June 30, 2026
Investment Committee Chair

Eli P. Niepoky
10 years of investment experience; appointed by the trustees
February 20, 2014 – June 30, 2025
Investment Committee Member

Rebecca Sullivan
Ex-officio member as Commissioner of the Department of Administrative Services
January 1, 2022 – Indefinite

Steve McCoy
Ex-officio member as State Treasurer
December 21, 1992 – November 30, 1997
November 1, 2011 – May 15, 2019 
July 16, 2020 – Indefinite

Greg Griffin
Ex-officio member as State Auditor
July 1, 2012 – Indefinite
Investment Committee Member

Rhonda Wilson
Appointed by the Governor
December 9, 2021 – June 30, 2027

Holly Veal
Appointed by the Governor, Superior Court Judge
May 6, 2024 – June 30, 2025

Ellen S. Golden
Appointed by the Governor, State Court Judge
July 29, 2016 – June 30, 2025

Ann Harris
Appointed by the Governor, Superior Court Judge
February 17, 2022 – February 16, 2023

Past Board Members

E. Trenton Brown III
April 2015 to June 2018

Daniel J. Craig
October 2004 to June 2016

Dennis C. Sanders
July 2010 to April 2015

Larry B. Mims
March 2013 to December 2014

William M. Ray, II
December 2006 to July 2012

Karlton Van Banke
February 2004 to March 2012

Kelly D. Turner
July 1998 to November 2006

Robert E. Keller
July 1998 to October 2004

Cynthia D. Wright
July 1998 to November 2004